Full List of Federal, State & Private Universities in Akwa Ibom State Nigeria

If you are reading this post, then you might be looking to apply to one of the universities in Akwa Ibom State. There are many universities in the country and they are all spread across each state of the country, Akwa Ibom is one of them. In today’s content, we will be giving you the Full List of Universities in Akwa Ibom.

Full List of Federal, State & Private Universities in Akwa Ibom State Nigeria

Details About Akwa Ibom State

The state of Akwa Ibom is located in the coastal southern part of Nigeria. Created in 1987 by Ibrahim Babangida from the former Cross River state, Akwa Ibom recorded over five million people in 2016. Currently, the state is the highest oil and gas-producing state in the country. The capital of the state is Uyo with an inhabitant population of 500,000.

Akwa Ibom State currently has four universities. One is a Federal Property, the other is state-owned and the remaining two are privately owned universities. They are all approved by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

Universities in Akwa Ibom State

Written below is the list of universities situated in the state and details about them:

1. University of Uyo (UNIUYO):

Located in the capital of Akwa Ibom State, the University was formerly called the University of Cross River State (UNICROSS). It was established as a federal university by the federal government of Nigeria on October 1st, 1991 and it was changed to its current name. The university commenced academic activities during the 1991/92 academic session.

2. Akwa Ibom State University (AKSU), Ikot Akpaden:

The university was conceived and funded by the government of Akwa Ibom State. Pioneer students started lectures at the university in the 2010/2011 academic year. The university was founded with the aim of uniting people with a passion to constantly seek knowledge that addresses issues of practical development in Nigeria.

3. Obong University, Obong Ntak:

The university is associated with the Churches of Christ and is a four-year private university that is situated in Obong Ntak. The University was founded in 1997 and was known as the African College of Management and the University of Africa respectively. The University has a close relationship with Obong Christian School which was established in 1986 and sponsored by the congregation of Christians at Mt. Morris, Michigan.

4. Ritman University (RU), Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom:

Established in 2015, the university is an Entrepreneurship university with the motto “Knowledge for Development”. The location of the university is Umuahia Road, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom State.

Summary of the Universities in Akwa Ibom State

  • University of Uyo (Federal).

  • Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot Akpaden (State).

  • Obong University, Obong Ntak (Private).

  • Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom (Private).

Other Schools in Akwa Ibom State Nigeria