Full List of Federal, State & Private Universities in Abia State Nigeria

It is possible that you have wondered how many universities are there in Abia State during your alone time and your curiosity has even made you searched the net. Well to save you the stress, we will be answering your curiosity by giving you the Full List of Universities in Abia State. This list contains both federal, state as well as private universities whose locations are in Abia State.

If you are not from Abia State, it will please you to know that the state is in the southeastern part of Nigeria. The capital of the state is in Umuahia and its commercial city is Aba. The city (Aba) was a former British colonial government outpost in the region and it has also been recorded as one of the most populated areas in the country.

It should be noted that Abia State currently has six universities. One of the universities is a federal one which means it belongs to the Federal government while one belongs to the state government. The remaining four universities are privately-owned.

Universities in Abia State

The list below shows the names of the Universities that have been approved by the National Universities Commission (NUC):

Federal Universities in Abia State

1. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture Umudike:

The university was established as a specialized University by a decree of the Federal Government (Decree No 48 of November 1992). It was formally known as the Federal University of Agriculture, Umudike. Formal activities began at the university in May 1993 and it started with the appointment of the council and the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Placid C. Njoku on 27 May 1993.

State Universities in Abia State

1. Abia State University, Uturu:

The university is amongst the state-owned universities in the country. The university’s inception was in 1981 in the former Imo State under the name of Imo State University Etiti. The University believes in Education that empowers individuals towards excellence and service. The university has remained resilient in the acquisition and dissemination of ICT-driven skills and it can be compared to graduates anywhere in Africa.

Private Universities in Abia State

1. Gregory University, Uturu:

The University was established in 2012 and was named after Pope Gregory. The University has over thirty departments currently and has about eight colleges.

2. Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State:

The university is a Christian church and it is owned and operated by the Seventh-day Adventist Church in Nigeria. It was established in 2013 and is named after the British missionary who brought Adventism to eastern Nigeria in 1923 serving for eight years in Nigeria – Jesse Clifford. The university is the 144 tertiary institution that is currently owned and operated by the Seventh-day Adventist Church worldwide.

3. Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State:

The university is a Catholic-owned university with Spiritans’ tradition. It was established by members of the Congregation of the Holy Ghost (Spiritans), Province of Nigeria South East. The federal government on the recommendation of the National Universities Commission (NUC)approved and licensed SUN on December 6th

4. Rhema University:

The university was founded by the Living Word Ministries International and licensed by the National Universities Commission (NUC) in 2009. Its location is Aba in Abia state.

Summary of Universities in Abia State:

Below are the universities you can attend in Abia State Nigeria.

  • Michael Okpara University of Agriculture Umudike (Federal).

  • Abia State University, Uturu (State).

  • Gregory University, Uturu (Private).

  • Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State (Private)..

  • Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State (Private).

  • Rhema University (Private).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Exit mobile version