Full List of Technical Colleges in Sokoto State Nigeria

There are a lot of higher institutions that you will come across in Sokoto State but not all of these schools are universities. This is because schools like technical colleges, monotechnics and polytechnics act as a veritable alternative route to universities. You will get the Technical Colleges in Sokoto State in this post.

Full List of Technical Colleges in Sokoto State Nigeria

NBTE is the board that supervises the affairs of Technical Colleges in the country and this board has other responsibilities. This article will tell you what you need to know about Technical Colleges, NBTE and bring other useful details.

What You Need to Know About Technical Colleges

Technical Colleges are among the schools that acts as a veritable alternative route to universities. Like said earlier, these institutions are available across the various states in the country. They are under technical institutions and so they follow all their categories. Their role is to empower students with vocational skills.

Students or school leavers that didn’t reach the admission requirements for universities can choose to attend any Technical Colleges. This is because their admission requirements are cheap if compared to universities.

One benefit of these schools is that they have reduced the illiteracy rate in the country. Other benefits are the reduction of the unemployment level and also the provision of adequate manpower that will work in the various economic sector.

What You Need to Know About NBTE

The National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) was set up by the federal government of Nigeria in the year 1977. NBTE is the body that supervises, accredit and regulate the affairs of all technical institutions. Specialised Institutions, polytechnics and monotechnics are among the schools under the supervision of NBTE.

All board have their vision and NBTE vision is to be a world-class regulatory body for the promotion of Technical and Vocational Education and Training in Nigeria. For the records so far, this board have accredited over 250 technical institutions in the country.

To consolidate and develop the nation’s system of higher education in response to the economy’s manpower need is one objective of this board.

What You Need to Know About Sokoto State

The formal administration of General Murtala Mohammed created Sokoto State from the old Northern Western State on the 3rd of February 1976. It can be found in the northeast part of Nigeria and its capital is Sokoto. It also has 23 local government areas and in this state, Hausa and Fulani are the predominant tribes.

Sokoto State share borders with Zamfara state to the east, the Benin Republic to the west, the Niger Republic to the north and Kebbi State to the southeast. There are also two universities in the state which are one federal and one state university.

List of Technical Colleges in Sokoto State

Students that are looking for the accredited List of Technical Colleges in Sokoto State will get it below. Apart from this, there are also other useful details that you will get below.






1. Ahmadu Bello Academy, Farfaru NTC Business Studies Department for Science and Technical Education, Sokoto, Sokoto State  
2. Government Girl’s Secondary School, Tambuwal NTC Business Studies    
3. Government Technical College, Bafarawa NTC Carpentry & Joinery

NTC Electrical Installation & Maintenance Work

NTC Motor Vehicle Mechanics Works

4. Government Technical College, Binji NTC Block Laying, Bricklaying & Concreting

NTC Electrical Installation & Maintenance Work

5. Government Technical College, Farfaru NTC Carpentry & Joinery

NTC Motor Vehicle Mechanics Works

NTC Radio, Television & Electronics Work


Admission Requirements

The JAMB (Joint Admission and Matriculation Board) examination is not compulsory for Technical Colleges. Applicants need five credits in WAEC (West Africa Examination Council) or in NECO (National Examination Council).

Check Out;