Full List of Technical Colleges in Plateau State Nigeria

There are a lot of higher institutions that you will come across in Plateau State but not all of these schools are universities. This is because schools like technical colleges, monotechnics and polytechnics act as a veritable alternative route to universities. You will get the Technical Colleges in Plateau State in this post.

Full List of Technical Colleges in Plateau State Nigeria

NBTE is the board that supervises the affairs of Technical Colleges in the country and this board has other responsibilities. This article will tell you what you need to know about Technical Colleges, NBTE and bring other useful details.

What You Need to Know About Technical Colleges

Technical Colleges are among the schools that acts as a veritable alternative route to universities. Like said earlier, these institutions are available across the various states in the country. They are under technical institutions and so they follow all their categories. Their role is to empower students with vocational skills.

Students or school leavers that didn’t reach the admission requirements for universities can choose to attend any Technical Colleges. This is because their admission requirements are cheap if compared to universities.

One benefit of these schools is that they have reduced the illiteracy rate in the country. Other benefits are the reduction of the unemployment level and also the provision of adequate manpower that will work in the various economic sector.

What You Need to Know About NBTE

The National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) was set up by the federal government of Nigeria in the year 1977. NBTE is the body that supervises, accredit and regulate the affairs of all technical institutions. Specialised Institutions, polytechnics and monotechnics are among the schools under the supervision of NBTE.

All board have their vision and NBTE vision is to be a world-class regulatory body for the promotion of Technical and Vocational Education and Training in Nigeria. For the records so far, this board have accredited over 250 technical institutions in the country.

To consolidate and develop the nation’s system of higher education in response to the economy’s manpower need is one objective of this board.

What You Need to Know About Plateau State

Plateau State was created on the 3rd of February 1997 and it can be found in the North Central Zone of Nigeria. It has 17 local government areas and its capital is Jos. Four universities can be found in the state and they are one federal university, one state and two private universities.

It is known to be the twelfth largest state in Nigeria. The state shares borders with Bauchi State to the northeast, Nassawara State to the southwest, Taraba State to the southeast and Kaduna State to the northwest.

List of Technical Colleges in Plateau State

Students that are looking for the accredited List of Technical Colleges in Plateau State will get it below. Apart from this, there are also other useful details that you will get below.






1. Government Technical College, Bukuru NTC Agric Implements Mechanics

NTC Block Laying, Bricklaying & Concreting

NTC Carpentry & Joinery

NTC Electrical Installation & Maintenance Work

NTC Fabrication & Welding

NTC Furniture Design & Construction

NTC Mechanical Engineering Craft Practice

NTC Motor Vehicle Mechanics Works

NTC Plumbing & Pipe Fitting

NTC Radio, Television & Electronics Work

NTC Refrigeration & Air Conditioning

Ministry for Education, PMB 2001, Jos, Plateau State 1988

Admission Requirements

The JAMB (Joint Admission and Matriculation Board) examination is not compulsory for Technical Colleges. Applicants need five credits in WAEC (West Africa Examination Council) or in NECO (National Examination Council).

Related Articles