Full List of Federal, State & Private Universities in Adamawa State Nigeria

There are many universities in the country across different states and there are a lot of students who would want to situate themselves in any of these universities. If you are among those students who would love to attend one of the universities in Adamawa, then this post will be giving you the Full List of Universities in Adamawa State.

Full List of Federal, State & Private Universities in Adamawa State Nigeria

Details About Adamawa State

Nigeria has 36 states and Adamawa is one of them located in the northeastern part of the country. The capital of Adamawa state and its largest city is Yola.

The city was established in 1991 when Taraba State was carved from Gongola state which was later renamed Adamawa State. Adamawa state occupies 36,917 kilometres making it one of the largest states in Nigeria. Borno, Gombe, and Taraba are the northwest, west, and southwest of the state respectively. The state’s eastern border forms the national eastern border with Cameroon.

Now that you have learned a little about the State you intend to reside in while attending one of her universities, we would like to note that Adamawa State has three universities in existence. While one belongs to the Federal Government, the others belong to the State as well as private management.

Universities in Adamawa State

The list written below contains the Federal, State as well and Private universities existing in Adamawa State and details about them:

1. Modibbo Adama University of Technology (MAUTECH), Yola 

The university was formerly known as the Federal University of Technology Yola and it is a research-intensive university. The university is located in Girei town in Adamawa State in Northeastern Nigeria.

It is among one of the 27 federal government university systems as well as one of the federal technology universities. The aim of establishing the university is to advance science-based research. In 1981, the university was established by the Federal Government for the provision of much-needed technologically skilled manpower for the nation.

2. Adamawa State University (ADSU) Mubi

ADSU, as it is abbreviated, makes provision for great opportunities to enable staff to carry out research and public findings. The university supports an e-learning environment that features easy use and user-friendliness. The University was established in 2002 and is located in Mubi in the Northern Senatorial District of Adamawa State.

The university was established by the Adamawa State University law no.10 of 2001. The university’s mission is to produce graduates with the highest standards in all fields of study.

3. American University of Nigeria (AUN), Yola

Founded in 2004, the university is a private university that offers an American style if higher education at all undergraduate, graduate as well as professional levels. The University is accredited by the National Universities Commission (NUC) as the first American-style university in Sub-Saharan Africa.

That is all for the list of universities in Adamawa State. With the list given above as well as a brief description of the university, we hope you are able to make a choice.

Summary of Universities in Adamawa State:

Below are the universities you can attend in Abia State Nigeria.

  • Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola (Federal).

  • Adamawa State University Mubi (State).

  • American University of Nigeria, Yola (Private).

Other Schools in Adamawa State Nigeria