UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award 2024 ($100,000 Prize)

This informs the public about the UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award 2024. Details about the Program are given below.

UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award 2024

The 2023 global laureate received a commemorative medal and a monetary prize of US$100,000 to be reinvested in the humanitarian initiatives for which they are being recognized. Regional winners also received some financial or material support to further their humanitarian work.

Program Details

The 2023 global laureate is Abdullahi Mire, a journalist and former refugee from Somalia who has championed the right to education while putting 100,000 books in the hands of displaced children and youth in Kenya.

Four regional winners have also been named for taking extraordinary action to protect and assist people forced to flee and stateless people and advance their inclusion in host countries and communities.

UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award Eligibility

Anyone may nominate a candidate for the UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award. If you nominated someone in the past but they did not win, you may nominate them again.

  • Candidates may be individuals, groups or organizations.
  • Their work must have a direct and positive impact on the lives of forcibly displaced or stateless people.
  • Their work relates to a major displacement situation or issue
  • This year UNHCR especially encourages nominations that relate o statelessness, climate, sports, solutions and inclusions but they are open to other themes.
  • They devote substantial time and effort to support forcible displaced or stateless people, going above and beyond the call of duty and outside their expected role.
  • They have the capacity to successfully implement a suitable project with the prize money (US$100,000 for the global laureate, US$25,000 for regional winners).
  • They have three strong references.

How to Apply

For those interested in the UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award 2024. Open this link to start the application process.

UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award Application Deadline

  • The deadline for receipt of applications is 20 March 2024.

Open this link for more details about the award.

Check Out:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here