Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024

This informs the public about the Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024. Details about the Program are given below.

Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024

The African Centre for Media Excellence (ACME) is pleased to announce that submissions are now open for the 2024 annual Uganda National Journalism Awards (UNJA).

Program Details

This landmark event marks a decade of recognising and celebrating outstanding journalistic contributions within the Ugandan media landscape. Journalists and media organisations and platforms across the nation are invited to submit their entries and participate in this historic 10th anniversary edition of the awards.


  1. Gain well-deserved national recognition for your dedication to impactful journalism. Cement your place in Ugandan media history by joining the ranks of esteemed award winners.
  2. Play a pivotal role in shaping the future of Ugandan media by contributing to high-quality journalism that empowers and informs the nation.
  3. Benchmark your work against industry standards. Participating in the competition allows you to assess your work against the highest standards in Ugandan journalism. The judging process, conducted by seasoned and respected media professionals, provides valuable feedback that can help you refine your skills and strengthen your craft.
  4. The competition can reignite your passion for storytelling and push you to explore new avenues within your expertise. Share your best work with a wider audience.
  5. Participating in the awards can create a sense of pride and accomplishment within your team. Recognition for their hard work can boost morale and motivate staff to continue producing impactful journalism.


  • There is no entry fee.
  • The competition is open to all journalists, whether freelance or full-time, as well as independent content producers working in Uganda.
  • Entries are welcome from anyone producing journalistic content on any platform, online or offline. This means that independent content producers who published journalistic content relevant to the competition are also welcome to submit entries.
  • Submitted work must have been published or broadcast in a Ugandan media outlet or a regional news outlet that is widely accessible in Uganda.
  • There is a total of 21 categories in this competition: 3 institutional-based awards and 18 subject-based awards.
  • All work (for subject-based entries) and strategies (for institutional-based entries, apart from the Stanbic Shield of Journalism category) submitted must have been broadcast, published, or implemented between 1 January and 31 December.
  • Entries for the Uganda National Journalism Awards must be submitted by midnight on 30 April 2024.


  • By submitting an entry to the contest, entrants represent and warrant that they have the necessary rights to do so and are the author, creator, or producer of the entry. Entrants permit ACME to post files of the winning entries on its website and awards-related communications.
  • Information provided to enter the competition will not be sold to third parties but may be shared as necessary for conducting and judging the contest and awarding prizes. Entrants may receive email communications from ACME concerning the contest.
  • ACME reserves the right to disqualify any individual or entity found tampering with the entry process, violating contest rules, or taking actions intended to disrupt the awards’ legitimate operation. Entries containing professional ethical violations or inappropriate content will be disqualified.

How to Apply

For those interested in the Uganda National Journalism Awards.

If you have any questions, write to awards[at], with the subject ‘UNJA 2024 inquires’.

Application Deadline

  • The deadline for receipt of applications is 30 April 2024.

Open this link for more details about Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024.

Check Out: