Full List of Technical Colleges in Nasarawa State Nigeria

There are a lot of higher institutions that you will come across in Nasarawa State but not all of these schools are universities. This is because schools like technical colleges, monotechnics and polytechnics act as a veritable alternative route to universities. You will get the Technical Colleges in Nasarawa State in this post.

Full List of Technical Colleges in Nasarawa State Nigeria

NBTE is the board that supervises the affairs of Technical Colleges in the country and this board has other responsibilities. This article will tell you what you need to know about Technical Colleges, NBTE and bring other useful details.

What You Need to Know About Technical Colleges

Technical Colleges are among the schools that acts as a veritable alternative route to universities. Like said earlier, these institutions are available across the various states in the country. They are under technical institutions and so they follow all their categories. Their role is to empower students with vocational skills.

Students or school leavers that didn’t reach the admission requirements for universities can choose to attend any Technical Colleges. This is because their admission requirements are cheap if compared to universities.

One benefit of these schools is that they have reduced the illiteracy rate in the country. Other benefits are the reduction of the unemployment level and also the provision of adequate manpower that will work in the various economic sector.

What You Need to Know About NBTE

The National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) was set up by the federal government of Nigeria in the year 1977. NBTE is the body that supervises, accredit and regulate the affairs of all technical institutions. Specialised Institutions, polytechnics and monotechnics are among the schools under the supervision of NBTE.

All board have their vision and NBTE vision is to be a world-class regulatory body for the promotion of Technical and Vocational Education and Training in Nigeria. For the records so far, this board have accredited over 250 technical institutions in the country.

To consolidate and develop the nation’s system of higher education in response to the economy’s manpower need is one objective of this board.

What You Need to Know About Nasarawa State

Nasarawa State was created on the 1st of October 1996 from Plateau State by the formal administration of General Sani Abacha. Nasarawa State can be found in the north-central part of Nigeria, it’s capital in Lafia and there are 13 local government areas in the state. Four universities are in the state which are one federal, one state and two private universities.

Fulani and Hausa are the dominant tribes in the state out of the various tribes. Nasawara State is bordered by Kaduna State in the north, Plateau State and Taraba state in the east, FCT Abuja in the west, Benue and Kogi state in the south. The state is known for its activities in agriculture.

List of Technical Colleges in Nasarawa State

Students that are looking for the accredited List of Technical Colleges in Nasarawa State will get it below. Apart from this, there are also other useful details that you will get below.






1. Government Technical College, Asakio NTC Agric Implements Mechanics

NTC Motor Vehicle Mechanics Works

NTC Furniture Craft Practice

NTC Electrical Installation and Maintenance Works

NTC Radio, Television and Electronics Works

NTC Plumbing and Pipe-fitting

NBC Business Studies

NTC Bricklaying, Blocklaying and Concreting

NTC Welding and Fabrication

Ministry for Education, PMB 044, Lafia, Nasarawa State 1997
2. Government Science and Technical College, Agwada NTC Furniture Design and Construction   NTC Furniture Design and Construction
3. Government Science and Technical College, Mada Station NTC Furniture Design and Construction   2017
4. APJ Science and Technical College,

KM 24 Abuja – Keffi Road,


Nasarawa State

NTC Foundry Craft Practice

NTC Mechanical Engineering Craft Practice

NTC Radio, Television and Electronics Works

NTC Computer and GSM Handset Maintenance

Private 2018


Admission Requirements

The JAMB (Joint Admission and Matriculation Board) examination is not compulsory for Technical Colleges. Applicants need five credits in WAEC (West Africa Examination Council) or in NECO (National Examination Council).

Related Articles