Royal Academy of Engineering (RAENG) Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation 2021 | APPLY NOW

The Royal Academy of Engineering (RAENG) Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation seeks to enhance, celebrate and reward engineering entrepreneurship in the sub-Saharan part of Africa. Applications for the Royal Academy of Engineering Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation 2021 are open and being accepted until the deadline date scheduled for 14th of September, 2020.

it is Africa’s biggest prize dedicated to awarding engineering innovation is founded by the Royal Academy of Engineering (RAENG). It uses the RAENG Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation by a way of important commercialization support to award ambitious African innovators developing implementable and scalable engineering solutions that would address local challenges, demonstrating the importance of engineering as an enabler for bolstering the quality of life and economic development.

CHECK OUT: DAAD Helmut-Schmidt Programme (Master’s Scholarships for Public Policy and Good Governance – PPGG) | APPLY NOW

About the RAENG Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation 2021

RAENG Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation is encouraging applicants with engineering-related innovations from all disciplines to enter their application, whether or not the applicant themselves possess an engineering background. It involves a tailored training and mentoring program for the duration of eight months which climaxes in a showcase event where a winner is selected to receive £25,000 along with three selected runners-up, that will each be awarded £10,000.


The Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation 2021 comes with several benefits as shortlisted applicants are entitled to receive a seven-month package of tailored support in order for them achieve their innovation to and take it to the next step in their commercialization journey. These benefits are listed below:

  • Regular online group and one-on-one business and entrepreneurship training from experts
  • Mentorship from Fellows of the Academy and its network, tailored to the individual’s needs.
  • Provides the Opportunities to travel to London and/or African cities for in-person training or events (dependent on the COVID-19 situation as most training and events are will likely be online)
  • Opportunities to pitch your innovation at events where high-profile guests are in attendance such as investors, entrepreneurs, dignitaries and media (it should be noted that the Africa Prize 2021 events may be virtual).
  • Networking opportunities with the Africa Prize-shortlisted applicants, alumni and wider networks at events.
  • The final prize of £25,000 for the winner and £10,000 each for three runners-up.

At the end of the training, the shortlisted applicants become part of the Africa Prize alumni community, which continues to receive support from the Academy through invitations to subsequent events, follow-on training and small grant funding.

CHECK OUT: WorldBank Group Mission Billion Challenge WURI West Africa Prize 2020 | APPLY NOW

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants are eligible to apply for the RAENG Africa Prize for Engineering 2021 if they meet up the eligibility criteria or requirements. These eligibility criteria or requirements include the following:

  • Applicants should have developed or be in the process of developing a new technological innovation.
  • Applicants must be an individual or a small team with an ambition to take a leading role in creating a new business to commercialize this innovation.
  • Individual must be citizens of a country in sub-Saharan Africa while for the teams of two or more, the lead applicant must be a citizen of a country in sub-Saharan Africa.
  • Innovation must be based in a country in sub-Saharan Africa
  • Although applicants are not required to be an engineering graduate or student, the application must be an engineering-related innovation
  • The lead applicant must be older than 18 years by 1st of September, 2020. Note that there is no upper age limit.
  • Industrial researchers and establishments are not eligible
  • Applicants are required to provide a letter of support from a university, research institution, innovation hub, or previous incubator programme. However, if applicants are not affiliated with any organization, another document proving the status of your innovation or organization, such as a document of incorporation or patent certificate may suffice.

The innovations can be any new product, technology or service, based on research in engineering to encompass a wide range of fields. This includes but is not limited to mechanical engineering, medical engineering, material science, ICT, electrical and electronics engineering, design engineering, computer science, civil engineering, chemical engineering, biotechnology and agricultural technology.

Application Process

The RAENG Africa Prize for Innovation 2021 application form has six sections. These sections of the application form include are as follows: Applicant details, Your innovation, Your business plan, About you, Supporting information and declaration, Marketing. It should be noted that applications close on the 14th of September, 2020 at 4 pm GMT+1. Applications can be submitted via an online grant system, using this link Applicants are advised to visit the official online platform at  for more information and guidelines.

CHECK OUT: GFG Foundation STEM Scholarship at Glasgow Caledonian University (GCU) | APPLY NOW



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Exit mobile version