Maria Moors Cabot Prizes 2024 for Journalists (up to $5,000)

This informs the public about the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes 2024 for Journalists. Details about the Program are given below.

Maria Moors Cabot Prizes 2024 for Journalists

The Maria Moors Cabot Prizes are the oldest international awards in journalism and were founded in 1938, when Godfrey Lowell Cabot of Boston founded the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes as a memorial to his wife. The prizes recognize journalists and news organizations with a distinguished body of work that has contributed to Inter­-American understanding.

Program Details

The 2023 Cabot Prize Gold Medalists are June Carolyn Erlick, ReVista, The Harvard Review of Latin America, United States; Joshua Goodman, The Associated Press, United States; Carlos Eduardo HuertasConnectas, Colombia; and Alejandra Xanic Von Bertrab, Quinto Elemento Lab, Mexico.

In addition, Miguel Mendoza, independent journalist, Nicaragua, and Nayeli Roldán, Animal Político, Mexico, will be honored with Special Citations.


  • Any journalist and/or news executive who works for any news organization based in the Western Hemisphere or any press association or news service that serves such an organization;
  • Other individuals, including freelance journalists with a long record of reporting on the region;
  • All media platforms, including online publications.

The Cabot Prizes Board, composed of journalists and educators concerned with Western Hemisphere affairs, will judge the entries. The Trustees of Columbia University, on the recommendation of the dean, will choose the winners. The honorees are announced in the summer and will receive a Cabot medal and $5,000 honorarium. Special citations may also be awarded.

Entry Requirements

Supported document types include .doc, .docx, .pdf, .rtf, .jpg, .xls. Supporting digital presentations can be sent as links.

Please upload each of the following items and provide working links for digital presentations:

  • Nominee’s biography and/or CV listing education, journalistic experience and public service, with dates.
  • A statement or nomination letter describing how the nominee has contributed towards international understanding in the Western Hemisphere.
  • Career highlights, examples of work: At least five but no more than ten (without prior authorization) print articles, books, television or radio programs or online stories that best represent the nominee’s career, or body of work. Curate the stories or reporting that shows strengths over time.
  • Please provide working direct links to any media.
  • Individuals may nominate themselves.
  • Nominations must be signed by the person submitting it.
  • One to three letters from third parties that explain why the nominee is especially deserving of the prize are also welcome. Supporting material such as books will not be returned.

How to Apply

For those interested in the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes 2024 for Journalists. Open this link to start the application process.

Application Deadline

  • The deadline for receipt of applications is 16 March 2024.

Open this link for more details about Maria Moors Cabot Prizes 2024 for Journalists.

Check Out: