JAMB and WAEC (O’Level) Subject Combination for Microbiology

What are the JAMB and WAEC subject combinations needed to study microbiology? Students normally asked this question and if you are reading this it might mean that you would like to know the subject combination need to study microbiology for JAMB and WAEC and this content will be giving you the subject needed to study the course.

The study of microscopic organisms such as bacteria, viruses, protozoa, fungi, and archaea is known as microbiology. The 5 major branch of microbiology is Bacteriology, Phycology/algology, Mycology, Immunology, Parasitology. There are also other branches which are Protozoology, Virology, and Nematology.

Subject Combination in JAMB and WAEC for Microbiology

The combination of wrong subjects is one of the things that give students difficulty in securing admission in any of the Nigerian universities. This is the reason why students should carefully fill in their subject properly in WAEC and JAMB and for those that don’t know the subject combination for microbiology it will be given below:

WAEC Subject Combination for Neurosurgery

For WAEC the student is expected to come out with at least five credits on the required subject combination for Microbiology which will be given below

  • English Language
  • Mathematics
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • With any trade subjects

JAMB Subject Combination for Neurosurgery

For JAMB the subject’s combination for Microbiology will be given below

  • English Language
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics

If you would like to study Microbiology in any of the universities in Nigeria, these are the subject combination needed in JAMB and WAEC.

List of Universities in Nigeria Offering Microbiology

Universities Offering Microbiology in Nigeria is also one important point that students would have to note. They should also carry out studies about their admission requirements. Below are the universities that offer the course.

Federal Universities

  • Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
  • Federal University of Technology, Minna
  • Bayero University, Kano
  • University of Benin (UNIBEN)
  • Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina
  • Federal University Gashua, Yobe
  • Federal University, Gusau Zamfara (FUGUS)
  • Federal University, Birnin Kebbi (FUBK)
  • Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State (FULAFIA)
  • Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State (FULOKOJA)
  • Federal University, Ndifu-Alike, Ebonyi State (FUNAI)
  • Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa (FUOTUOKE)
  • Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State
  • Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State (FUWUKARI)
  • Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB)
  • Federal University of Technology, Akure
  • Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO)
  • University of Ilorin (UNILORIN)
  • University of Lagos (UNILAG)
  • University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID)
  • University of Agriculture, Makurdi
  • University of Mkar, Mkar
  • Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (OAU)
  • University of Port-Harcourt (UNIPORT)
  • Nigeria Police Academy Wudil
  • Usman Danfodiyo University (UDUSOK)
  • The University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN)

State Universities

  • Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
  • Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba
  • Abia State University, Uturu
  • Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli
  • Bauchi State University, Gadau
  • Nasarawa State University Keffi (NSUK)
  • Cross River State University of Science Technology, Calabar (CRUTECH)
  • Delta State University, Abraka (DELSU)
  • Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  • Edo University Iyamo
  • Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu (ESUT)
  • Gombe State University, Gombe
  • Ekiti State University
  • Imo State University, Owerri (IMSU)
  • Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai (IBBU)
  • Lagos State University, Ojo (LASU)
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye
  • Ondo State University of Science and Technology Okitipupa (OSUSTECH)
  • Plateau State University Bokkos (PLASU)
  • River State University of Science and Technology (RSUST)
  • Sokoto State University
  • Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University Katsina (UMYU)
  • Osun State University Osogbo (UNIOSUN)
  • Ekiti State University
  • Kwara State University, Ilorin (KWASU)

Private Universities

  • Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State
  • Achievers University, Owo
  • Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan (ACU)
  • Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin
  • Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State
  • Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross river State
  • Adeleke University Ede (AUE)
  • Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo
  • Bells University of Technology, Otta
  • ECWA Bingham University, New Karu
  • Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
  • Bowen University, Iwo
  • Caleb University, Lagos
  • Caritas University, Enugu
  • Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State
  • Coal City University Enugu State
  • Covenant University Ota
  • Crescent University (CUAB)
  • Chrisland University
  • Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State
  • Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin
  • Evangel University, Akaeze
  • Gregory University, Uturu
  • Eastern Palm University Ogboko, Imo State
  • Fountain University, Oshogbo
  • Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike – Enugu State
  • Hallmark University, Ijebi Itele, Ogun
  • Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji
  • Landmark University, Omu-Aran
  • Lead City University, Ibadan
  • Madonna University, Okija
  • Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola (MAUTY)
  • Micheal & Cecilia Ibru University
  • Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo
  • Mountain Top University
  • Niger Delta University Yenagoa (NDU)
  • Northwest University Kano (NWU)
  • Novena University, Ogume
  • Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja
  • Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State
  • Paul University, Awka – Anambra State
  • Redeemer’s University, Mowe
  • Renaissance University, Enugu
  • Salem University, Lokoja
  • Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa
  • Southwestern University, Oku Owa
  • Tansian University, Umunya
  • Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike
  • Kings University, Ode Omu (UNIKINGS)
  • Veritas University, Abuja,
  • Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State
  • Wesley University of Science & Technology, Ondo
  • Crawford University Igbesa
  • Rhema University

Admission Requirements

JAMB score, Post UTME score and WAEC Grade are what determines one’s chance to study Microbiology and it also depends on the University’s admission screening process.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Exit mobile version