ICFJ/Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling 2020 ($5,000 prize) | APPLY NOW

The ICFJ/Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling 2020 is now open for application. Details about the award and how to apply are given below.

ICFJ/Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling 2020 ($5,000 prize) | APPLY NOW

About ICFJ/Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling

As a collaboration between the International Center for Journalists (ICFJ), the ONE Campaign, and the Elliott family, The Michael Elliott Awards for Excellence in African Storytelling honors up-and-coming journalists in Africa who strives to give strength to the voices of people and illuminate the transformational change that is taking place in the African continent.

The 2021 program will be virtual as a result of the ongoing travel restrictions in response to the COVID 19 pandemic. Over the course of the fellowship, ICFJ will arrange a series of approximately 10 meetings virtually which will feature media and experts from U.S and U.K newsrooms and also former Michael Elliot Award winners.

These sessions will be tailored by ICFJ according to the interests of the award winners. Meetings with journalists from prominent international outlets such as The Washington Post, The Economist, Al Jazeera, and others will be a part of the sessions that will be held.


The following are the benefits of the ICFJ/Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling:

  • $5,000 cash prize will be given to the two 2021 winners
  • An invitation will be given to the winners so they can take part in a virtual internship with prestigious media outlets. At the internship, they will have access to editorial meetings and media experts and they also get to share their own experiences with top journalists.

Eligibility Criteria

Interested persons are expected to meet the eligibility criteria listed below in order for them to apply for the award:

  • English-speaking journalists who are working in Africa for print, broadcast, and online news media are encouraged to apply. More than ten years of experience in journalism is a requirement needed from applicants.
  • One published piece that exemplifies Africa through thoughtful reporting and excellent storytelling must be submitted by candidates applying for the award. The award looks forward to investigative or explanatory pieces with a preference for those that illuminate transformational change in Africa.
  • An applicant is required to submit a copy of the published story or broadcast clip in English. Any work done in other languages is expected to have an English copy included. Submissions from the pint, broadcast, or digital journalists is welcomed. Web, audio, video, visual or mixed media may be a part of Multimedia submissions.
  • The story to be submitted must have been published between December 1 2019 and December 1, 2020.


If interested persons meet the eligibility requirements listed above and have confidence in their work, then this link will enable them to apply.

Application Deadline

All submissions are to be made on or before Sunday, January 17 2021 at 11:59 pm EST.

Visit the official webpage via this link for more information



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Exit mobile version