Grade Point of University of Lagos – UNILAG Grading System 

One important factor that speaks volume for a Nigerian graduate is usually the grade they finish with, there’s the feeling of commendation you always want to show to someone who graduated with a First Class Honors in the university for a job well done, but before you become a graduate, as an undergraduate, the basic knowledge lies knowing your Grade point and how to build it to finish strong. With that being said, in our article today, we shall be discussing one of Nigeria’s prestigious universities and it’s grading system- Grade point of University Of Lagos.

Grade Point of University of Lagos - UNILAG Grading System 

The University of Lagos, popularly known as UNILAG, being one of the first five generation universities in Nigeria, was founded in 1962. The university remains one of Nigeria’s most competitive universities and has one of the largest populations of students all over the country, with many accolades to the university’s name.

It’s evident that the school has done exceedingly well to produce bright and esteemed personalities all over the country with the likes of former Lagos State Governor Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, who graduated with a first-class in accounting, vice president Mr. Yemi Osinbajo, and other public names in the Nigerian entertainment industry. Speaking about the grade point of the University of Lagos, we shall be going into detail in the next section.

Grade Point of University of Lagos

For candidates aspiring to pick the prestigious university of Lagos as their choice of institution, I commend you all and wish to enlighten you on how the grading system of the institution is being organized. These grading point system, which with time, you’ll be more comfortable to call “ GP” is a point that you get as a result of your performance in one particular semester, while your Grade point Average is the cumulative point you get as a result of your total performance throughout the academic session. The Grade Point in the university of Lagos ranges from 1.0 to 5.0

UNILAG Grading System 

This guide below should help us understand the various grading I point of UNILAG and what they mean:

  1. 50 to 5.0 ( First Class division)
  2. 50 to 4.49 ( Second class Upper division)
  3. 40 to 3.49 ( second class lower division )
  4. 50 to 2.30( third class division)

The above are the classes of the grade point system of the University of Lagos (UNILAG). Having a first-class GPA mess you need to be scoring A’s in majority of your courses for that session, particularly the ones with higher credits like 3,4, and 5 credits, an A in those courses can really do a lot to your GP, so if you’re aiming to finish with a First Class or second class Upper-division, you have to bring in your best in your academics and make sure your best is good enough to match them up the grading system of the university.

Madago Emuobo
This post is authored by Madago Emuobo A.K.A Mobo, the founder and Admin of Naijschools. With nearly a decade of expertise in the education sector, Mobo started with Naijschools providing up-to-date information on educational and tech-related topics on breaking news, and daily opportunities for students and graduates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.