In this post, I would be giving you everything you need to know about How to Block someone On Facebook. Facebook users block one another regularly, and every user has one friend that posts unnecessary things on their timeline.
What to Know Before You Blocking People on Facebook
If you notice that a friend is spamming you, or trying any suspicious or fraudulent activity you can easily block them on Facebook. When you block someone on Facebook and you later change your mind, you can unblock that person. Yeah, whenever you want after 24 hours of blocking that person.
Blocking these users is a very easy alternative to having to stop seeing their timelines. Yeah, blocking them would just keep all their posts and information away from your own personal timeline.
Social media can be a very delicate place and Facebook happens to be the most used social media platform of all time. So, there are bound to be problems among users of the platform. Facebook users suffer at the hands of users who post anything they come across without any restrictions. This happens to be a very bad habit or behaviour.
Reasons Why You Should Block Someone on FB
Blocking Facebook individuals is a very common thing and to top it all they would know when they are blocked. Facebook has individuals’ privacy in mind and they wouldn’t betray their users.
Facebook would tell users that you have blocked them. Yeah, this is so unless they manually go through your page then they would see they have been blocked. These are the reasons for blocking someone on Facebook.
- Facebook users have been known to cause a lot of harm to each other. Some Facebook users are very sensitive about content that comes up on their pages. This is why they prefer to filter out unwanted content. They do this by blocking such individuals from their pages so they can see these harmful Facebook posts.
- Facebook’s main focus on individuals’ privacy allows users to be able to filter out all the negative and unnecessary posts from their timelines. They can simply block some specific keywords from coming up on their pages. These keywords most times have tragedy linked to them.
For users who don’t want to have problems with their friends muting their friends is another good alternative which they can use to keep such negative posts from their page. By muting them they would still see ur posts but you would be able to see theirs unless you open their page directly.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Facebook?
When you are blocking someone on Facebook, it is far more serious than unfriending the person. When someone is blocked by you, they would not be able to do anything that communicates to you like; they will not be able to tag you in a post.
People you blocked would not be able to see what you posted in your timeline, they would not be able to chat with you or even view your post on Facebook. so, if the thought of blocking your friend or someone close to you because of a fight, then you would need to think again.
In most cases where people had to block other people, it is mainly because they are scammers looking to exploit users and gain money or information from them. If you ever encounter such people you should block them because they do more harm to you than you expect.
Facebook has always been searching for a way to reduce the rate at which scammers carry out their activities. Facebook mainly blocks their account, but in case you encounter anyone, it is best you block and reports them to Facebook.
How to Block Someone On Facebook
Recently more and more people are being aware that their actions also affect others and this is why they try to manage their social media posts and comments, but for the individuals who have not been remiss Facebook recommends you block them so as to avoid any issues from their posts or comments.
You can block someone on your Facebook account using both your desktop and the mobile app. Below are the steps to follow in other to block someone’s Facebook account:
- Open your web browser (any web browser)
- Log in to your Facebook account on the web browser
- Navigate to the profile of the person you want to block
- Once you are on the page of the person you want to block, click the three dots right next to the message icon
- And a list of options would appear, click the block
- Once have clicked it, you would be given the option to cancel or continue to blocking the person
- Confirm the block request and the person would be blocked
- Open your Facebook app on your mobile device
- Tap the search bar at the top of the app and enter the name of the person you want to block
- Locate the person on the search result
- On the user’s profile page, locate the ellipsis below the person’s profile picture
- A list would appear, click block on the list
- You would be required to confirm your request by click block once more
As easy as blocking individuals, unblocking them is also easy so users or individuals should not be worried about unblocking them when they want. After the steps above, the friend will be blocked with immediate effect and they won’t be able to text you, tag you or view your post on Facebook anyone until you unblock them.
- How to Block Someone on FB Without Them Knowing
- How to Block Someone’s Profile on Your FB Marketplace Account
- Reasons Why You can’t Find Someone on Your Facebook Account but on Messenger
- How to Block Someone’s Profile on Your Facebook Dating Account