African Women in Media (AWiM) Labour Migration Media Awards 2021 | APPLY NOW

Applications are invited for the African Women In Media in short “AWiM” Labour Migration Media Awards for the year 2021. The application is open for all African journalists interested in participation and African journalists whose area of journalism is in line with the program. Further details about the award categories, benefits, eligibility, and how to apply are provided below.

African Women in Media (AWiM) Labour Migration Media Awards 2021 | APPLY NOW

About the 2021 AWiM Labour Migration Media Awards

The issues around African women in labour migration is becoming an increasingly important policy issue and calls for more attention. The award aims to encourage more deliberate exploration by professional African journalists on the area of labour migration as related to women.

There are different categories within the program that each journalist can choose from. All of these categories each relate to the issues concerning African women in labour migration and a participating Journalist in this program may choose from one of these categories according to a preference for their research. Also, journalists which may be interested in more than one category are allowed to submit up to two entries across all categories.

Partners of the AWiM Labour Migration Media Awards 2021 include the African Union (AU), International Labour Migration (ILO), and International Organization for Migration (IOM).

Award Categories

Listed below are the various categories hosted by the Award program.

  1. Labour Migration News Team of the Year
  2. Economic Impact of Migration
  3. Remittance and African Diaspora Contributions towards Development
  4. Migrants’ Rights
  5. Governance of Labour Migration
  6. Gender-based Migration
  7. Migration and Health
  8. Fair recruitment, forced labour, and human trafficking of migrant workers
  9. Intra African Migration

There will be a judging panel set up, consisting of representatives of project partners. Two professional journalists will select three finalists from each of the categories listed. The finalists of the program will be tasked with producing a short 30-second video explaining their entry. Afterward, the videos are to be promoted on social media. In the end, a winner will be selected from each of the categories by the judging panel.


Each winner is entitled to a cash prize award of $500 plus access to the five courses listed under the labour Migration Reporting Training Program. The winners will be announced on December 7, 2020.

Eligibility Requirements

In order for your application to be successful, there are set eligibility criteria that must be met. Here they are.

  1. Only entries submitted between 19 October 2020 and 20 November 2020 will be considered eligible.
  2. Professional journalists can submit works that were broadcasted or published between 01 January 2019 and 20 November 2020
  3. Participants must have the nationality of a member state of the African Union. An eligible participant can be a resident of any country in the world.
  4. Participants must be at least eighteen years of age
  5. Applicants are to submit an entry for their preferred category. Also, applicants can submit up to two entries across all categories
  6. Joint submissions are allowed so long as the submissions are originally authored by the applicants.
  7. Entrants must be the authors of the works submitted in their name, and own the copyright or be permitted by the copyright holder for submission.
  8. Submitted works can be in any journalistic format. These formats may be in text, data, photojournalism, audio, audiovisual, and so on.
  9. There are no entry fees payable.

Note that all entries must be submitted through the official contest form given in the link below, and must comply with the rules set. Entries sent in other ways that do not comply with the eligibility criteria set, will not be considered. Also, late entries will be rendered ineligible.

How to Apply

To Apply, you are to submit your entries via the official content form provided through this link.

Application Deadline

The deadline for entries is set for 20 November 2020.

Follow this link for more details about the 2021 AWiM Labour Migration Media Awards.

This post is authored by Madago Emuobo A.K.A Mobo, the founder and Admin of Naijschools. With nearly a decade of expertise in the education sector, Mobo started with Naijschools providing up-to-date information on educational and tech-related topics on breaking news, and daily opportunities for students and graduates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Exit mobile version